Malware warning!?

Good help is hard to find.
They ignore bells; (we assume they're in the kitchen sneaking a sip of the cooking sherry). We recommend leaving a message, hopefully they'll get around to your inquiry.

Malware warning!?

Postby SteveM on 11 Feb 2010, 16:50

When going in to the Sun thread in Bianca forum I get a malware warning connected to hermetic.org
"Our eye sees as our mind reads." Edgar Wind
SteveM
A dog with a bone.
 
Favorite Deck: Crowley/Harris Thoth
Aliases: kwaw

Re: Malware warning!?

Postby robert on 11 Feb 2010, 20:01

SteveM wrote:When going in to the Sun thread in Bianca forum I get a malware warning connected to hermetic.org


There is a link in the thread to this address:
http://www.hermetics.org/solis.html

I get the warning if I try to follow that link. I bravely (stupidly?) went ahead and followed it and found a typical page that didn't seem too evil to me, but obviously something on that site has triggered it to be identified as malware. However, I'm on a Mac, so perhaps it is something specific to Windows.
"You can't compare the brains of insects to the brains of Republicans, insects wouldn't object to other insects having health care."

- my friend Ravi
User avatar
robert
spiregazer
 
Location: Oxford, England
Favorite Deck: Jacques Vieville
Mood: thinner
Aliases: le pendu

Re: Malware warning!?

Postby Ross G. R. Caldwell on 11 Feb 2010, 23:15

I just got a warning too, so it must be a Windows thing.

I'd be interested what a Linux user would see.

I have never seen this warning before, so I'd probably not go there, even though I have protection I trust (AVG).
"Everybody want to call the tune, but nobody want to pay the piper!"
User avatar
Ross G. R. Caldwell
grouch
 
Location: Béziers
Favorite Deck: Bibl. nat. Estampes, Kh. 34 rés t.I
Mood: Just swell, thanks
Aliases: belmurru

Re: Malware warning!?

Postby robert on 12 Feb 2010, 01:57

This is what Google says is the problem:
What is the current listing status for hermetics.org?
Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this website may harm your computer.

Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 5 pages that we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time that Google visited this site was on 2010-02-10, and the last time that suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-02-10.
Malicious software includes 6 scripting exploit(s).

Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including yourtagheuer.ru/.

This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS26496 (PAH).


So it looks like software is automatically installed.

I'm inclined to remove the links to the site from our posts? Good idea? Bad idea?
"You can't compare the brains of insects to the brains of Republicans, insects wouldn't object to other insects having health care."

- my friend Ravi
User avatar
robert
spiregazer
 
Location: Oxford, England
Favorite Deck: Jacques Vieville
Mood: thinner
Aliases: le pendu

Re: Malware warning!?

Postby Bertrand on 12 Feb 2010, 02:01

Ross G. R. Caldwell wrote:I'd be interested what a Linux user would see.

a linux user sees the warning too (well at least I do with firefox, lynx doesn't know about warning).

bad idea to remove the links, I think, as the site may be fixed. Bad idea to visit it now with javascript turned on or any active plugin.
Bertrand
member
 
Location: Paris - France
Favorite Deck: Viéville


Return to Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest