What's wrong with the Popess' eyes in Marseille?

Hi everyone. I'm glad to have found this community.

I would love to talk to someone about this: I've been looking at the faces in the Marseille deck (not sure if it's 1 or 2, I'm new to this) for a while now.

I can't take out of my head that the Papesse's eyes are visibly different from one another, in a manner that I would like to think is unique to this card (in drawing or shape, whatever you wanna call it). I made this amateurish compilation of the notable faces in the deck:
I know the artist isn't concerned at all with the perfection of this detail, but even if some of the other card's eyes may look uneven -- mainly the Pope, Hercules-Amoureux, Hermit, Devil --, I still think there's something here. The thickness of the shadow or eyelids on one of the eyes as opposed to the other is just too *there*. This difference almost seems to represent and unify her opposing severe (Noblet) or fake-innocent (Conver) look.

Actually there's an image that comes to mind of someone with uneven (severe and innocent) eyes who's also holding a book.:
These are my ramblings! Tell me what you think.

Re: What's wrong with the Popess' eyes in Marseille?

hi,

I saw your faces picture here ...
https://ne-np.facebook.com/groups/14570 ... 408521592/
The connected text is also rather similar.
There were thousands of different Tarot artists in the last 600 years. It is not surprizimg, that there are many differences in the single motifs. It's more interesting , if one find strong similarities as in the case of the many Marseille Tarots.
.... :-) ... are you really sure, that the men with beards were intended to present the figure of a Popess?
Huck
http://trionfi.com